A passion for software development, cooking and Porsches

Porsche 914 EV Project – December 2008 – #22

I am ready to do some “critical” positioning and welding. I had to recover the outer trailing arm console as everything around it was rusted, yet once I got it cleaned up, it was in pretty good shape and had a little rust on the inside. I treated that, put POR-15 on that and then welded on a new top part so I could attach the top as the removal of the spot welds weakened the metal. Note to self/others, if you have to recover this part, I would cut it out and then grind down the metal to preserve the ability to put your own plug-weld holes in later.

In order to make sure the part goes in correctly, you need to make sure the part gets back on the car in the same place. I could have saved myself some hassle in making a full jig for the placement of the part, but I did have the sense to measure and triangulate everything to record the placement. The following measurements were taken and validated to put the holes right back where they need to be…

 

  • Front center of the outer console bolt hole – Exact to intact measurement 138.5 cm
  • Front center of the outer console bolt hole leveled and measured off the firewall, even and exact
  • Template over the wheel well to position outside of outer console seam
  • Triangulated measurement from middle of firewall to side, outside to the center of the outer console bolt hole
  • Pitch of bolt heads for 2 angles on outer console

I now have the part positioned and ready to weld in. A few more days to contemplate and ask the 914 World forum their opinions and feedback. Then we are all done in the outside rear repair. Onto the rocker and jacking post. That is the boy helping weld his first metal parts!

DSC_0635 DSC_0641 DSC_0642

DSC_0643 DSC_0638

Leave a comment